
      
 
 

VERMONT COMMUNICABLE DISEASE REGULATIONS 
 
 CHAPTER IV - RABIES CONTROL 
 
 
401.  REPORTING OF ANIMAL BITES: 4-

 
     (a)  It shall be the duty of every physician to report within 24 hours to 
the local health officer the full name, age and address of any person under his 
or her care or observation who has been bitten by an animal of a species 
subject to rabies. 
 
     (b)  If no physician is in attendance and the person bitten is a child, it 
shall be the duty of the parent or guardian to make such report within 24 
hours.  If the person bitten is an adult, such person shall make the report, 
or, if incapacitated, it shall be made by whoever is caring for the person 
bitten. 
 
402.  Principles of Rabies Control 4-

 
     1.  Human Rabies Prevention.  Rabies in humans can be prevented either by 
eliminating exposures to rabid animals or by providing exposed persons with 
prompt local treatment of wounds combined with appropriate passive and active 
immunization.  The rationale for recommending preexposure and post exposure 
rabies prophylaxis and details of their administration can be found in the 
current recommendations of the Advisory Committee Immunization Practices (ACIP) 
of the Public Health Service (PHS).  These recommendations, along with 
information concerning the current local and regional status of animal rabies 
and availability of human rabies biologics, are available from the Vermont 
Department of Health. Persons who regularly handle animals such as trappers, 
slaughterhouse workers and taxidermists should consider receiving rabies 
preexposure vaccination. 
  
     2.  Domestic Pets and Wolf Hybrids.  Local governments are encouraged to 
initiate and maintain effective programs to ensure vaccination of all domestic 
pets and wolf hybrids and to remove strays and unwanted animals in accordance 
with Titles 20, Chapters 191 and 193 of the Vermont Statutes Annotated. 
 
         "Domestic pet" and "Wolf-hybrid" are defined in Title 20, Chapter 193 
of the Vermont Statutes Annotated. An owner of a domestic pet or wolf-hybrid 
must have that animal inoculated against rabies by a licensed veterinarian in 
accordance with Section 3581 of Title 20 if applicable, and with rules adopted 
by the Secretary of Agriculture, Food and Markets.  
 
 
The current recommendations of the Compendium of Animal Rabies Control, 
National Association of State Public Health Veterinarians, endorsed by the 
American Veterinary Medical Association and the Council of State and 
Territorial Epidemiologists, serve as the basis for the animal rabies control 
program and procedures in Vermont and facilitate standardization of procedures 
throughout the United States. 
 
403.  Control Methods in Domestic and Confined Animals 4-

 
     1.  Postexposure Management.  Any animal bitten or scratched by a wild 
animal not available for testing must be regarded as having been exposed to 
rabies. 
 

 
 
 



         a.  Dogs, Cats and Ferrets. Unvaccinated dogs, cats and ferrets 
exposed to a rabid animal must be euthanized immediately.  If the owner is 
unwilling to have this done, the animal must be placed in strict isolation for 
6 months and vaccinated 1 month before being released. Dogs, cats and ferrets 
that are currently vaccinated must be revaccinated immediately, kept under the 
owner's control and observed for 45 days. Animals with expired vaccinations 
need to be evaluated on a case by case basis. 
 
         b.  Livestock.  All species of livestock are susceptible to rabies; 
cattle and horses are among the most frequently infected of all domestic 
animals.  Potential for exposure of livestock to rabies must be assessed on a 
case by case basis.  Neither tissues nor milk from a rabid animal should be 
used for human or animal consumption.  However, since pasteurization 
temperatures will inactivate rabies virus, drinking pasteurized milk or eating 
cooked meat does not constitute a rabies exposure, although exposures will be 
assessed on a case-by-case basis.  
 
         c.  Other Animals. Other animals exposed to rabies should be evaluated 
on a case by case basis.  
  
     2.  Management of Animals that Bite Humans.   
 
     The local health officer shall cause an apparently healthy dog, cat or 
ferret that bites a person to be confined and observed for 10 days. It is 
recommended that rabies vaccine not be administered during the observation 
period. Such animals must be evaluated by a veterinarian at the first sign of 
illness during confinement. Any illness in the animal must be reported 
immediately to the local health officer.  If signs suggestive of rabies 
develop, the animal must be humanely killed, it's head removed, and the head 
shipped under refrigeration for examination by the state health department 
laboratory.   
 
     Other biting animals which may have exposed a person to rabies must be 
reported immediately to the local health officer.  Prior vaccinations of an 
animal may not preclude the necessity for euthanasia and testing if the period 
of virus shedding is unknown for that species.  Management of animals other 
than dogs, cats or ferrets depends on the species, the circumstances of the 
bite, and the epidemiology of rabies in the area, and the biting animal's 
history, current health status, and potential for exposure to rabies. 
 
4-404.  Control Methods in Wildlife 
 
     The public should be warned not to handle wildlife. Wild mammals (as well 
as the offspring of wild species cross-bred with domestic dogs and cats) that 
bite or otherwise expose people, pets or livestock should be considered for 
euthanasia and rabies examination. A person bitten by any wild mammal should 
immediately report the incident to a physician who can evaluate the need for 
antirabies treatment. 
 
4-405.  REMOVAL:  A confined animal being observed for signs of rabies shall 
not be removed from one health district into another prior to the conclusion of 
the prescribed isolation period except with the permission of the health 
officer from whose district such animal is to be removed and the health officer 
to whose jurisdiction the animal is to be transferred, except that if removal 
is to be to another state, he or she shall give permission only after securing 
the consent of the commissioner of health of the state of Vermont.  Such 
removal shall be private conveyance, as to prevent the escape of the animal or 
its coming in contact with other animals or persons. 
 
 
 
 
 
 



4-406.  LABORATORY SPECIMENS:  Whenever any animal that has or is suspected of 
having rabies dies or is killed it shall be the duty of the health officer to 
cause the head of such animal to be removed and sent immediately, properly 
packed, with a complete history of the case to a laboratory approved for this 
purpose by the state commissioner of health.  The health department shall be 
notified of the specimen's intended arrival. 
 
4-407.  DESTRUCTION OF ANIMALS, SUBJECT TO RABIES; PRECAUTIONS:  Whenever an 
animal, subject to rabies, is brought to a veterinarian to be destroyed, an 
attempt shall be made to ascertain that the animal has not bitten any person 
within the previous ten day period; before destroying the animal, he or she 
shall require the owner to sign a statement to this effect, and he or she shall 
not destroy an animal which has bitten a person within ten days.  The health 
officer must be notified of any such biting incident. 
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